How did I get here?

Me, the DOR girl, also known as ‘poor responder’ … how did I go from that to a possible OHSS case with a day 10 e2 of 7100?! This cycle has totally taken us by surprise. I have been responding fast and my estrogen has been rapidly escalating. Yesterday Dr S opted to coast me for a night to try get the e2 under control (it had surged from 3200 to 5400 between days 8 & 9!!) but it ended up increasing even more. I am triggering tonight but he has canceled the HCG trigger (no sore bum yay!) opting instead for a double lupron trigger and I will be taking cabergoline starting tonight and injecting cetrotide for four nights starting the night of retrieval to prevent OHSS.

I have no idea what to feel. Mostly, I am just nervous (and super bloated & sore). I hope the retrieval goes well and I hope I don’t end up getting hyper-stimulated. Good wishes/ prayers much appreciated 🙂

5 thoughts on “How did I get here?

  1. I am also stimmig right now at CCRM. In fact I was there today for an US and labs.
    I’ve heard that drinking a lot of water and eating protein rich diet and salty foods can help prevent OHSS.

    Good luck to you!

    • I was there today too in the morning 🙂
      Thanks a lot… I’m getting really nervous about this whole OHSS affair now but hopefully it won’t get too out of hand!
      When is your ER scheduled for? Tons of good luck to you as well!

  2. I almost OHSS…I had gained 9.5 lbs of fluid after my retrieval and if I had gained just 1/2 pound more I would have been hospitalized. YIKES!! So this is what to do BEFORE and AFTER….drink lots and lots of gatorade and V8 juice even if you are not thirsty. Stay away from water because it causes you to be bloated MORE. The key is to drink LOTS of fluids with sodium. It seems backwards and you would think you are retaining water by drinking sodium based drinks but it actually does the opposite with this type of fluid. I also drank lots of chicken broth. It’s been almost 2 years since I OHSS and I still can’t even look at a bottle of gatorade without gagging. lol!!

    Praying for you 🙂 waitingforbabybird.com

    • Goodness… I’m sorry you had to go through that! I’ve had something similar to OHSS (was never diagnosed properly) after an IUI a couple years back… it was supposedly mild but I was super sick for a long time and even the memory of that time makes me shudder!
      I’m doing the gatorade and the coconut water but I’m going to take your advice and add the V8 & the chicken broth. Thanks for the suggestions and the prayers!!

Leave a Reply

